My Mom

My mom was a hippy.


There’s me (undeniably the cutest kid in the history of kids), my mom, my dad and my grandma. I guess that we’re doing hippy stuff like picking flowers or something in this photo. Don’t you love that my grandma has a belly-shirt on? Seriously. That’s hot.

My dad ended up not being a “dad”, and mom took care of me on her own for a long time. She then decided to get married again, years later.


I was the flower girl at my mom’s wedding. I really didn’t like my soon-to-be step-dad, and so even after numerous rehearsals to show me how to scatter the flower petals oh-so-gracefully…. on the day of their wedding I ended up stomping down the aisle and dumping the flowers at my mom’s feet. I was immediately put in “time-out” on this chair with my empty flower basket.

I guess I’ve always been stubborn… but I was right. My step-dad was out of the picture eventually.

I loved this dress. I was infatuated with Winnie the Pooh. For Easter one year, my mom painted  Winnie and his crew hiding eggs for me.

The painting doesn’t really go with my decor now, but I can’t fathom getting rid of it. See the basket in the lower left-hand corner? The tag has my name on it.

This photo makes me cry whenever I come across it. A friend of mine asked if she could spend the night at my house the next evening. I asked my mom, and she replied that it would be strange, as that night would be Christmas Eve… and shouldn’t my friend be spending that night with her family?

Nope. Her mom was planning on leaving her alone overnight. By herself.

So — she not only got to spend Christmas Eve with us, she woke up to presents under our tree. We got matching dresses and necklaces, and mom took us out for a fancy breakfast in Honolulu (road trip!). For years after this, I realized that my mom would always take in wayward friends of mine;  feeding, clothing and mothering them as best she could.


My excitement for cocktails had to come from somewhere…. :)

My mom worked long hours as a single mom to support us. She’d be gone before I left for school in the morning, and she’d get home long after I’d gone to sleep. As glamorous as she was, she worked hard.  10-hour days in 3-inch heels took it’s toll eventually. I love this photo posted above. Did you even notice that she’s barefoot? What a poser.


my affinity for making faces at a camera had to come from somewhere…. :)

My mom finally met her soul mate: my dad, Larry. He’s amazing. She waited to marry him until I was out of high-school and on my own. I was a bridesmaid at my mom’s wedding, where she sported those hot Madonna gloves pictured above.

Years later, she attended my wedding on the same beach where she had taught me to walk as a child. She made my bouquet of gardenias and other tropical flowers. I wanted to borrow the Madonna gloves, but they didn’t go with my dress.

I have the most utmost respect for my mom. She is an amazing, talented, intelligent, beautiful woman. She has dealt with so much, but has never relied on her past to make her future. She has taught me grace, humility, honesty, and how to be a generous person. She is my best friend in so many ways, and my biggest cheerleader.

Happy Mother’s Day, mom. And thank you for 35 years of taking care of me. I love you.

All women become like their mothers. That is their tragedy. No man does. That’s his.
Oscar Wilde

This entry was posted in All About Us, Giving Thanks. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Mom

  1. Jen Jen says:

    That is a beautiful story! I remember your mom from when I would spend the night at your house. She was always so kind to me.

  2. Mom says:

    I must have done something right,you turned out to be a amazing young women ! I am so very proud of you and all you have accomplished in your life so far. Miss you much and will see you soon. Love , Nanc

  3. Lyle Hicks says:

    Great Story! Thanks for the insight.

  4. wendy says:

    I love reading stories about wonderful moms!

Leave a Reply

