Public Pools Policing Playtime?

A 3-year-old boy was found unconscious in the local Bend, Oregon public pool recently. Thankfully, lifeguards and paramedics were able to reseccitate the child.

KTVZ, a local news station, asked the question on their website:

Should public pools require young children to wear flotation devices?

KTVZ online poll

I voted No. I believe that parents should be attached at the hip to very young children while near any body of water, be it a pool, river, lake, or bathtub.

It also is difficult to teach a child to swim while wearing floaters, or a life-jacket. I was swimming before I could walk, as most kids are who are raised near the ocean. I would have never learned to swim underwater, holding my breath, if I had arm rings on.

This entry was posted in random, scary. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Public Pools Policing Playtime?

  1. jen says:

    It’s absolutely a parent’s responsibility. Especially when we are talking about a 3 year old! Juniper makes flotation devices available, that should be enough.

  2. Missy says:

    I was a lifeguard for many years, and was always amazed at how many parents would let their children out of their sight at busy pools. Lifeguards have to always be scanning the water, but generally can’t pay attention to each individual in the water. It can be a surprisingly stressful job!

    After the first few summers, I got smart and worked at adults-only apartment complexes where I could read undisturbed all day!

  3. Jake says:

    Agreed completely. I get so sick of going to the pool and seeing a crapload of kids running around like crazy, bugging the crap out of everybody and every single parent (minus my wife and I) just sunning themselves on the cement, totally ignoring their kids. And sadly, I saw kids are basically crying for help as they’d come up to me and ask if *I* wanted to play with them (basically because mommy and daddy were ignoring them). Now if there was some parenting here, this could would’ve never talked to me — imagine if I was some psychopath or something.

Leave a Reply

