Central Oregon refugees

We hired a Central Oregon refugee. She came in and announced that she was a resident of Baker City for all of 48 hours, and by 72 hours, she was our go-to gal. She and her husband waved goodbye to Central Oregon when their oldest child left for college. She explained how over-crowded they felt, and how they could both get P/T minimum wage jobs in Baker and live in a much nicer home.

Preaching to the choir.

Then, while we were interviewing our last prospective employee (who ended up being our go-to guy for the kitchen), a car pulled up, parked, and a guy jumped out as if to come in for lunch. He then realized that we weren’t open yet, and before he could get in his car and drive away, I ran outside.

I smiled and yelled “TWO WEEKS!” and he turned around and came back to the front door. I told him we’d be open in two weeks, and gave him a card with our website on it, inviting him to send us his email address and we’d send him an invite to our private opening.

He said he and his wife had just moved here, and were living in the RV park until they either found a house or built one on the property they had just bought outside of town.

“Where did you move from?” I asked.

“Bend,” he said, reluctantly.

It seems to be the reaction these days when someone admits moving here from Mt.Bachelorville.

No shame, I said, and I admitted being from Bend as well. Almost as if we were Californians disclosing our previous zip code when approached by our new neighbors in Northwest Crossing. 🙂

::::::::::::::::::::::::::

And in other news, we’re 14 days away from opening our restaurant and couldn’t be more excited. I spent the day in Boise shopping for the last-minute things that we had completely forgotten about. Whitey spent the day golfing. He needed a day off after the last few weeks.

Our final inspection is scheduled for tomorrow, the rest of the ceiling is put up, and then the place is all ours.

So much more to do, and so few days to finish it.

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, bend oregon, Giving Thanks, Our Pizzeria. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Central Oregon refugees

  1. Missy says:

    Whoo hoo! You’re so close, and it looks great! I can’t wait to come see Baker City and eat some great food!

  2. Jake says:

    If I didn’t have kids and family here (mostly kids), I’d so be out of here, too. But having free babysitting nearby and giving our kids a chance to see their grandparents frequently (something I never really could do when I was a kid) is a nice thing. But let me tell ya, if my wife and I didn’t have kids, we’d probably be out of here.

  3. Tom says:

    I am so sorry if anyone has made you feel unwelcome in Eastern Oregon, Baker City or anywhere else because you have emigrated here.

    Those people just need to “get over it”. Everyone is from somewhere, even if it was their ancestors. Personally I am thrilled to see new blood come into the area. Just look what you two are doing to enhance and improve the quality of life in Baker City.

    If some people want to live somewhere where nothing ever changes, there are plenty of rural places that haven’t changed in 50 years. I know I live in one of them.

  4. Jake says:

    In case that was directed at me, Tom, you misunderstood: I’m in Bend now, looking to get out.

  5. KeenEye says:

    Thanks for the comment, Tom. And don’t fret, Jake. I don’t think that he thought you were a Bakeronian being a butthead.

    Is it Bakeronian or Bakerite? Bakerite sounds like a brand of cookware.

  6. Tom says:

    No, sorry Jake. I wasn’t referring to you. My apologies if you were offended.

  7. Jake says:

    No offense taken, just was making sure 🙂

  8. dave says:

    As far as I’m concerned, Eastern Oregon is a great place to bail out to. We found our place down the road from you in Canyon City. Will have to drop by and have some pizza next time we’re in town shopping…

Leave a Reply

