The Good, the Bad, and the Grumpy

Computers are shot. I’m barely able to squeek by, typing in the orders letter by letter. Sometimes I have to order one thing, only to “modify” it in the software to name it something else, then do the math to change the price. It’s unbelievable that we have a brand spanking new system that is working so shoddy. When I called tech support tonight to let them know once again how upset we are, I was told that they are working on it. Great. Super. In the meantime, I’m printing duplicates of the receipts, hand-writing their name and any extras (hold the onions, add red sauce) and an expediter is running it to the kitchen. It’s incredibly inconvenient, and I’m about ready to buy a simple cash register and a ticket wheel.

So. Opening Day.

Lunch was smooth; we did a great business with the high school students, slinging slices for a solid 30 minutes. The kids were very respectful, and cleaned up their own tables for the most part. One group bought their sodas from the In n’ Out next door, though, and brought them in to drink. When one of the kids came up and asked for a refill, I told him we sell Coke products and that he’d have to get his refill next door. He promptly went back to his table and spilled what was left of his Pepsi.

A nice surprise was having a friend show up for lunch who I used to work with in Bend. She had no idea it was our first day — great timing. I gave her a pint glass and a logo tee. I hope she wears the shirt at work so my former boss sees it.

After lunch was over, I was able to quickly squeeze in an order to our food rep… and yet it turned out to be waaaaaaaay light, as it turns out.

Me, at the beginning of our night: “Hi, please take a menu and let me know if you have any questions. I’ll take your order here at the counter, and we’ll bring your food right out to you.”

Me, at the end of our night: “Thanks for coming in. I have good news and bad news. The good news is that we’ve had only positive comments from our customers all day. The bad news is, we’ve served twice as many people as we expected and we’re out of steak, artichoke dip, hot Philly subs….. and Pizza.”

WHAT?!??

PIZZA?

How the heck does a pizzeria run out of pizza????

Seriously. I told Whitey last night to make a ridiculous amount of doughs. We agreed that we would rather throw out dough than run out, and so he spent five hours last night making dough for today. We almost giggled (do grown men giggle?) at how funny it was to have an over-abundance of dough in our walk-in fridge. There was no way we’d run out.

And then we did.

I couldn’t believe that I was telling people that they couldn’t order large pizzas, that all we had left were Giants. Or that we didn’t have Canadian Bacon. How does a pizza place run out of CB? That’s the 2nd most fave pie – the Hawaiian!

The strombolis were selling like crazy, though, and we had four different people stop by the counter to mention that they previously had no idea what it was, but it was now their favorite. I agree. I love stromboli. It’s my favorite thing on our menu.

“What’s a Stromboli?” was the most asked question, followed closely by “When will you start delivery?”

Ummmm, never at this point. We’ve planned on implementing delivery soon, but we really need to dial-in our in-house tickets first.

So, besides the no-show employee, and the bunk Point-of-Sale system, and the running-out-of-food problems, we had a great Opening Day!

I will say that we are so So SO lucky to have the crew we hired. It’s amazing how much they’ve learned in the last three days, and how hard they hustle. I really like these people, and am so thankful for having them on-board.

Three of our crew pitched in to buy us flowers, too, which made me teary-eyed. We’ve got some amazing people working with us.

It’s 2am as I finish this blog entry. We just got home from work, and I’m unwinding with a glass of wine and blogging. Whitey and I were at work this morning at 7am, and I’m absolutely exhausted. We’ll wake up in five hours and start it all over again.

Lastly…

I now understand that sign that says “We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone.”

Mr.Grumpy pants who was hostile to three of us tonight needs to take a Happy Pill and go on vacation, and he certainly didn’t deserve one of our few remaining pizzas.

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, Giving Thanks, Our Pizzeria, Restaurants, Teamwork, why I love my husband. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Good, the Bad, and the Grumpy

  1. monkeyinabox says:

    Good job on making it happen. I’m sure it only gets better from here. 😉

  2. Missy says:

    Yay! It just gets better from here!

  3. Mike Rudi says:

    Wow! You’re not kidding about being busy. I drove by a few times last evening and you were packed! Congrats!

  4. Matt says:

    You guys rock. Understand the sleep thing. Glad everything went well.

  5. Jana says:

    One of our favorite places uses a deck of cards for customer identification. The person yells 4 of clubs and someone answers. Easy to write on a ticket.??? Don’t know if it is useful in your situation. Congrats on your opening it sounds like all in all a fantastic start.

  6. Kasey G. says:

    I spoke with who stopped by – she said everything was wonderful and that you looked great. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

