The Most Comfortable Shoe

Our first week of business, I could barely walk at the end of each night. My feet stung, and I’d remove my Nike running shoes to close up, gingerly walking barefoot through the restaurant while cleaning and putting away things.

After 5 days of this insane pain, I was near tears when I mentioned how sore I was to a gal that worked on weekends. She said to talk to the owner of the downtown coffee shop; that she had the same problem and it was solved by a pair of shoes she bought.

Later that day, I went to the coffee shop and asked her for a shoe referral. She pointed me towards her neighbor, a locally-owned clothing and shoe boutique. I walked into “Barbara Jeans” in my work shirt and jeans, and asked her to find me the most comfortable shoes in the world.

She provided me with two pairs of Clarks.

I bought these – the Unstructured by Clarks “Unloop” Slip-on. From the moment I put them on, I have been smiling.

I had no idea how important a good pair of shoes are. I wear these shoes from about 8:30am until 11:30 at night, and my feet have no idea that they have been holding me up for 15 hours.

Whitey has been complaining about how sore his feet are, so last night I bought him a pair of Clarks online from Zappos. (sidenote: Barbara Jeans doesn’t carry men’s shoes) They had free overnight shipping, and so they were on the porch when we got home at 11:30 tonight. He put them on, and announced that he felt like George Costanza from Seinfeld, and that he should preach about his new shoes. I told him to settle down and to let me know how he feels about them at the end of the day tomorrow….

So – if you’re needing the most comfortable shoes in the world, go for Clarks. And buy them locally, if you can. 🙂

This entry was posted in All About Us, shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Most Comfortable Shoe

  1. paperseed says:

    I’d would highly recommend a pair of Dansko Professionals. Seriously, they are amazing when you’re on your feet all day, which is why you’ll often see nurses and doctors and kitchen staff wearing them (my mother works full-time in two restaurants). I own a black and a brown pair. I’ve never found a more comfortable shoe. Ask any Danko wearer and they will surely rave!

  2. Jana says:

    Life is too short for sore feet!

Leave a Reply

