Mele Kalikimaka

Christmas in Hawaii was the same every year.

We’d wake up, open a few presents, then head to the beach. On the way, we’d stop at McDonald’s for a Filet O’Fish and fries, drive the four more blocks and then we’d scarf down our meals while sitting on towels staring at the ocean. Dad would eventually pass out on a sand-chair face up with his Ray-Bans on, mom would be nose-deep in a book, and I’d be digging holes in the sand for the sand-crabs I had caught and occasionally getting stung by blue-bubbled jellyfish.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

We slept in this morning, then took the dogs to the park. A friend is staying with us and he brought his two dogs with him, so we had a full-fledged dog party at the field this morning. The icy snow tore up Max’s paws, so we had to cut the adventure short.

I hadn’t thought about breakfast this morning, and our fridge is empty, so we headed to the only place that’s open – the Truck Corral. We ate our eggs and toast, and are now relaxing while watching a movie. Tonight we’ll have dinner with MIL and drink a bit too much wine.

This is our 2nd day off in 12 weeks. I plan on napping as much as possible.

Mele Kalikimaka.

This entry was posted in All About Us, Giving Thanks. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mele Kalikimaka

  1. Duncan McGeary says:

    Hey, if you feel like giving me a password, let me know. I promise not to repeat anything.

    Duncan

  2. Jon says:

    Merry Christmas! Sounds like an interesting Hawaiian tradition you had. We were much more prosaic. 🙂

  3. Jana says:

    Merry Christmas to all out there. I hope you enjoyed your break.

    Sorry to hear about all the carap you guys are putting up with. Sucks.

  4. Jen Jen says:

    Mele Kalikimaka to you! I miss the bright sunny Christmases we use to have!!
    Alright….how do I get one of those “passwords”?? 🙂 I don;t think I will be bumping into any of the people you write about WAY out here 😉 I do love your stories though!
    I hope you, Whitey and the rest of your family had a great holiday.
    Ferfer

Leave a Reply

