January recap

JC? Your hair is getting too long. You’re going to need to wear a ball cap or a hairnet.

Or…

… I guess the Green Bay Packer’s cheesehead will work, too. 🙂 Love this kid.

We replaced two of our four dining room windows. We had cut our budget when we discovered the plumbing issues, and didn’t replace the windows that had broken seals. They looked dirty, and so I kept the window coverings closed. That, in turn, made us look like we were closed, even if we were open.

They replaced the window during our recent SUPER cold spell, so our dining room was about -2 degrees for the first hour we were open. BRrrrrrr!

It’s been snowing like crazy here. We’ve got a few feet in front of our house, and the parking lot for the restaurant has been plowed over a dozen times in the last month. At $20 bucks a pop, it’s becoming a very expensive winter.

The snow hasn’t kept us from being busy, though, so we’re very thankful for that. Yesterday was the busiest we’ve been in a month. I even offered to deliver the larger orders because it was snowing so hard, but no one took me up on it.

Had a guy last night interrupt me while I was taking an order with another couple at the counter. He announced that he needed to wrap up the last two pieces of his pizza, and that it was

“The best pizza I’ve ever had.” I nodded, said thank you, and tried to continue with the other couple.

“No,” he said. “It’s the best pizza I’ve ever had in my life! I can’t get over how good it is. Really!”

Everyone in line laughed at him, and the couple asked what kind of pizza it was. Sweet Thai Shrimp. One of my personal favorites, yet, we only sell a few every month. Sweet / Spicy / Crunchy — not your typical pizza. I’m going to live on his comments for a few weeks. It made me feel great.

When he left, he yelled into the kitchen that he’d be back on Superbowl Sunday and he was going to get 3 of our Giant 23″ Sweet Thai Shrimp pizzas for his party. Nice.

I hope that we’re busy for Superbowl. I’d like to watch the game, but I’d also like to have a good day in sales. Today, we sold an entire batch (about 8 orders) of frozen chicken wings with two different sauces (on the side) to a guy having a party. I wonder if he’s going to claim that he made the wings himself.

We didn’t do any advertising for Superbowl. We’re doing beer specials, and 1/2 priced apps during the game for anyone who buys a pizza. We’re also giving away gift certificates, beer stuff from the distributor (t-shirts, koozies, etc.), and a sweet Green Bay Packers Letterman jacket.

It’s supposed to snow tomorrow. Without doing delivery, I wonder if we will be busy.

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, Giving Thanks, Our Pizzeria. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January recap

  1. Jana says:

    We’ll be by for one of those shrimp pizzas! I wish–it sounds really good.

    BTW thank you for your heroic efforts saving your beloved MIL from certain disaster.

Leave a Reply

