6-months in Business

We opened our restaurant on October 11, 2007 — six months ago.

Time has flown by.

We’ve learned so much, and yet, are still such novices in the restaurant biz. Working in a restaurant is so much different than owning a restaurant. The easiest way to describe this difference are the reactions when a customer pulls into the parking lot 10-minutes before closing:

Me/Whitey: “Nice.”

Employee: “Man!?!? Are you kidding me?” (big sigh, huff and puff, eye roll)

I can understand it, though. I remember working at Sully’s / Rosette / Brad’s / Cork / Wild Bar Horse n’ Grill / Bourbon Street Daiquiris / and being so frustrated when management would graciously invite the late arrival to be served by me. I had places to BE, people to SEE!

I ran a report tonight with our POS software, and being the OCD-Virgo freak that I am, I am devouring our stats. To get our 3 SBA loans, I had to write a 182-page business plan (pretending that I knew what the heck I was doing). Now, I love comparing our actual stats with my predictions.

You know — they’re not so off. They’re a little lower than I had predicted, but entrepreneurs always aspire to break the bank, otherwise we wouldn’t go for it.

I’m looking forward to Summer. Everyone swears that it’s busier, and if tonight was any indication, they might be right.

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, Giving Thanks, Our Pizzeria. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 6-months in Business

  1. I, too, am a small business owner with OCD. Good luck with your restaurant. We use Quick Books POS.

  2. Kath says:

    When it comes down to restaurants I am afraid I would rather be the consumer than the owner. I think this is why I love holidaying abroad – out of one restaurant into another that follow each consecutively . However got to watch the waist line so their will be a time I will miss “one”.

  3. Shannon says:

    We’re proud of you. Even more proud after we saw your wonderful place.

Leave a Reply

