“If you were asked, would you accept an offer to be the Vice President nominee?”

This question was asked of all of the members of the U.S. Senate. TheHill.com published the answers of all 97 members of Congress. Here are the answers the I found worthy of a good ol’ copy n’ paste:

Sen. Larry Craig (R-Idaho)
“I would say ‘No, Hillary.’ ”

Sen. Bob Bennett (R-Utah)
“Of course. Big house, big car, not much to do. Why not?”

Sen. Thad Cochran (R-Miss.)
“When I was much younger I would have probably said, ‘Sure, I’ll be glad to accept it,’ but I’m 70 years [old] and they need a younger person for the job. I would probably tell them, ‘Look for somebody else.’ ” (note: his fellow Republican John McCain is 71-years-old)

Sen. Pete Domenici (R-N.M.)
“No. I’m too old.” (Age: 76)

Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa)
“I’m too old to be vice president. But I am young enough to be reelected to the Senate.” (Age: 74)

Sen. Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.)
“I like my current job and I don’t care for that one.”

Sen. Edward Kennedy (D-Mass.)
“I plan to stick with my current job until I get the hang of it.” (Kennedy is the second-most senior member of the Senate, having been there since 1962)

Sen. Bill Nelson (D-Fla.)
“If Hillary’s the nominee, Barack will be the running mate. If Barack’s the nominee, Hillary will be the running mate. That’s my answer.”

Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.)
“The chances of that are so remote that I’m more likely to be hit by an asteroid.”

Sen. Ron Wyden (D-Ore.)
“I have a unique perspective on this. I am the only senator to have announced I am not running for president because there should be someone here to serve as the Senate’s designated driver. I intend to stay in that position. The Senate needs a designated driver to stay behind and work on healthcare.”

Sen. Judd Gregg (R-N.H.)
“No. I don’t like going to funerals.”

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

And my top 2 favorite answers:

Sen. Tom Harkin (D-Iowa)
“No, I’d have Jon Stewart stand in for me. Jon Stewart. That’s my guy.”

Sen. James Inhofe (R-Okla.)
“No. I enjoy life too much.”

::::::::::::
source

This entry was posted in politics. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “If you were asked, would you accept an offer to be the Vice President nominee?”

  1. monkeyinabox says:

    How about some grumpy old guy with a shotgun?

  2. Adrienne says:

    CLASSIC!

Leave a Reply

