Unexpected Health Inspection

Our kitchen manager called me while at home yesterday and told me to get my butt down to work; the Health Inspector was there for a surprise visit during our lunch rush.

I was at the restaurant within minutes, and walked around the kitchen, dining room and bathrooms with the inspector. She poked and prodded, checked temperatures, asked questions and basically nosed around. It’s her job to be nosy, though.

After the inspection, she stood on the other side of the counter and ordered lunch, saying that she’d eat while typing up the report. I took it as a good sign that she wanted to eat at our place…

While she was eating, she called me over to talk, and I learned that she has over 20-years of experience as a Health Inspector. She had been an inspector in our area awhile ago, but had most recently worked in Central Oregon. We talked about the new Deschutes County Health Department restaurant scores being online — Malheur County is not planning on doing that anytime in the future. I’m not opposed to it; in fact, think that it might encourage restaurants to pay more attention to health codes.

She told me that Paizano’s was one of the cleanest restaurants she’d been in; that it was obvious how attentive we are to keeping everything organized and sanitary.

Our score?

100%.

She shook my hand and said, “Thank you for your efforts. It shows.”

WOO HOO! After she left, I hugged our kitchen manager, my MIL, and even the dishwasher. There was no one left to hug, so I went home to hug my dogs.

I’m so proud of our crew.

 

 

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, Giving Thanks, Our Pizzeria. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Unexpected Health Inspection

  1. Duncan McGeary says:

    Congratulations. I hear 100% isn’t very common. Way to go!

  2. gottabkd says:

    Most excellent…. and well deserved…. 😉
    Cheers

  3. Sarah Ann says:

    I’m new to your blog and have so enjoyed reading it! I’ve had many great laughs! We are coming over to Baker for Miners Jubilee and will be sure to stop in for some Pizza!

  4. Missy says:

    Awesome! I worked in the restaurant business for ten years, and don’t remember ever seeing more than a 98% before! Y’all rock.

Leave a Reply

