Flour in my nether regions

8 o’clock a.m. till 11:30 p.m.

That, my friends, is a solid workday.

I’m finding flour in places flour shouldn’t be found. I won’t go into detail, if only to save this blog from being rated-R.

Whitey takes Thursdays off after 12:30 so that he can golf in the Men’s League with his buddies. He mentioned that recently he was golfing with his friend (who retired a few years ago at a young age), another guy who wore pressed slacks and a button-up shirt, and the third was wearing suspenders and jeans (fresh off the farm he owns and operates). They all laughed about the flour in Whitey’s ball cap, the dirt on the farmers pants, the starch in the executive’s shirt, and the beef jerky and whiskey-breath of the new retiree….

It’s simple to judge someone by their appearance, I guess.

Executive guy was telling Whitey that he had the best pizza outside of Naples, Italy, here in this lil’ town of Baker City. He said it was a place “outside of town”. Whitey’s friend laughed and asked what the name of the place was — “Something P-Puh-Pie….” he replied.

“We’ll have to check it out,” he responded, laughing and winking at my husband.

Good stuff.

Delivery is killing me. We’ll be super-slammed in the dining room, and I have to drive a delivery order across town. I want so badly to be throwing a dough, topping a pie, rushing food out, tossing dishes into the sink… working!!!! Driving a mini-van is so anti-climatic.

I still love my ugly shoes. They’re so comfortable. I’m even wearing them with socks, just like nerds do. Nerds with nice feet, that is.

I’m digging Summer. It’s busy at the restaurant. We might just stay open for awhile (sorry, lurkers). 🙂

PS: I’m stealing OOMA from Jen. It’s a great way to make mention of super-happy things without devoting an entire post on it:

Ten OOMA (objects of my affection)

  1. Licorice tea, iced, with honey, in a pint glass with lots of ice
  2. People who wave at other drivers on the road. It’s a small town thang.
  3. Getting rid of paper plates except for To-Go orders. Feels GOOD!
  4. My dog, Max, when he growls viciously and nose-dives into my feet when I get home at night
  5. Walking onto the porch in the morning to see if my giant lillies have opened (not yet!)
  6. 60-degree showers at midnight to wash the flour out of my hair and out of my ears
  7. My favorite people these days: The certainly-not-Blands, who took a lost dog off my hands while I was delivering pizzas, then brought me a bottle of Pinot Noir to thank me for being. Just being. Thanks, guys. You made my day/week/ongoing…
  8. Whitey. The most amazing guy. Friend. Person. Husband.
  9. My commute to work only costing 33-cents in gas.
  10. Neighbors who take our trash bin out early in the morning when we’ve forgotten to.

And if I’m going to blatently steal from Jen, I should most definitely quote this:

People are unreasonable, illogical and self-centered.
Love them anyway.
If you do good, people will accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives.
Do good anyway.
If you are successful, you will win false friends and true enemies.
Succeed anyway.
The good you do today will be forgotten tomorrow.
Do good anyway.
Honesty and frankness make you vulnerable.
Be honest and frank anyway.
The biggest person with the biggest ideas can be shot down by the smallest person with the smallest mind.
Think big anyway.
What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight.
Build anyway.
People really need help but may attack if you help them.
Help people anyway.
Give the world the best you have and you might get kicked in the teeth.
Give the world the best you’ve got anyway.

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, Blogroll, Friends, Giving Thanks, Our Pizzeria. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flour in my nether regions

  1. gottabkd says:

    Wow, I really like the last part, “do anyway”… all of it…. I may need to steal it too 😉

    Jen has great pictures posted, interesting angles. I like the one of the 3 men, the clouds above look like a handprint in the sky… too funny that the one right below is a hand as well… lol

    #4… is hilarious, I can just evision that happening because your pet is just so happy to see you 🙂

    33cents on gas spend is not to bad, and really good neighbours are a gem a dozen and just as hard to come by…

    No peeves?

    You may want to think about scheduling a girls afternoon… you deserve time away too… 🙂

  2. Adrienne says:

    The last part just made my day/week …

    Thanks!

  3. cw says:

    wait. EVERYONE waves at each other??

    lucky!

Leave a Reply

