Nothing’s wrong – just working

Thanks for your emails. Everything is fine; I’m just working constantly, and haven’t had time to sit down and pound out any posts.

Whitey has insisted that I take Mondays off, but it always seems as if I have more to do on Mondays than any other day of the week. The past two Mondays, I drove to Ontario (about an hour away) to see an allergy doctor. My allergies have been horrid lately, so I was given a skin test of about 70 allergens of which I was severely allergic to over 25. I was given a prescription for two different pills, and a couple of inhalers. I still haven’t filled the prescriptions and have just been suffering in silence. I hate pills. They make me feel “off” in my day-to-day routines.

Snippets:

  • June and July have been much busier at the restaurant. We’re working as many hours as we can, and have been able to work around our staff’s busy schedule as well. We can’t expect them not to have a life outside of work (like us).

 

  • I ordered a neon sign for the window and it arrived damaged. I was sent a replacement part, which also arrived damaged. I’ve learned that I cannot order neon signs through the mail.

 

  • During one of my stints in Ontario, I raced down to restaurant supply store in Boise and bought 10″ pizza pans to serve our slices on, thereby eliminating paper plates at Paizano’s. 🙂 Woo-Hoo! We were spending over $400 a month on paper plates, so it’s a win-win situation. Our slices are still too big for the 10″ pans, but covered with a sheet of checkered paper it works perfectly.

 

  • We decided about 8 weeks ago to stop serving soup for the Summer because the weather has been so warm, and who eats soup in the Summer, right? Wrong. We’ve had at least one person every day ask what kind of soup we have. Hmmm.

 

  • Food prices are up. I’m watching our staples like a hawk: flour, cheese, tomatoes, meats. We can’t change to a different type of these items because our recipes would change. Our flour must be high-gluten, our cheese must be 100% whole-milk, our tomatoes must be romas, our meats must not have any wheat fillers. Everything else can be swapped – canned artichoke hearts, jalapenos, black olives, nuts, etc. Our kitchen manager has been doing a great job on keeping us stocked up on items that are about to go up in price, too. It all adds up.

 

  • Delivery is a boon to our business, and yet a pain in the arse. Whitey and I are the only delivery drivers right now, until we can hire someone else that we can insure but that I can’t advertise for.

 

I’d better get back to work. I’m trying to finish all of the homework I was given by our accountant so that we can finally get our ’07 taxes done. Yes, 2007. I should be preparing for ’08. <sigh>

This entry was posted in All About Us, Our Pizzeria, random. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nothing’s wrong – just working

  1. Sami says:

    I can do it. I’m married, 40 years old, and perfectly suited for delivery driving! (clean record). I’m ready to move to Baker in a heartbeat. Will you hire me?

  2. Missy says:

    Hang in there!! You’ll make it.

  3. Zac says:

    I love you guys and I PROMISE-your hard work and determination will pay off. Things could be worse ehh…like being jobless?..? :-/. I will make it “home” one of these days….only the big man knows when-seriously-I love and appreciate everything youhave done for me-cedez and ruckus are sure appreciative too!!!!

  4. Adrienne says:

    Awesome that business is keeping you busy, but what a bummer you don’t have time to YOURSELF! I understand, I have a toddler and am carrying a full-load of classes. Hawai’i is calling. Can you hear it????

Leave a Reply

