Our Anniversary, and our five fights.

Whitey and I celebrated our anniversary a few days ago. Only four years of marriage, yet it feels like a lifetime. Is that a good or bad point?

In the last year, we had our third, fourth and fifth fight we’ve ever had, all of which were about the restaurant.

Our first fight was about nuts.

It was about five years ago… We were driving from Eugene back to Bend and I notice hazelnut trees on the side of the road. Whitey insisted that they were FILBERTS, and I insisted that NO, they’re HAZELNUTS. We argued for a good hour that they were not the same nut. When we got home, I immediately Googled it, and proved that I was right.

He’s never gotten over it. (filberts are a cousin of the hazelnut – yet, the hazelnut is considered far superior to the filbert, which is most often ground up and used as a flour)

Our second fight was about the food we were feeding the dogs. I was certain that we were mixing their dry food with wet cutlets, and he insisted that it was the wet ground food. The argument lasted a few weeks until our next road-trip to Costco (a 90-minute drive away) and the only wet food that they had was the ground wet food. He gloated the entire trip home.

Score? 1-1.

Our third fight was about how many steps it is into our basement. That one you’ll have to come over and watch my presentation for. It’s twelve. Twelve STEPS into our basement, not eleven STAIRS. We still get into this one every once in awhile….

Our fourth and fifth fights have been over much more major issues, which I (obviously) won’t get into. They deal with the restaurant, though. Running a business with your spouse can make everything a hot topic.

Remember, in our previous life BB (Before Baker), I worked 8am to 5pm and he worked 6pm to 2am. We met for lunch or dinner to catch up, and every time we saw each other it was as if we were on a date. After moving to Baker City, we had a year off to enjoy our time together, cook alot of awesome meals, hike, bike, play with the dogs…. again, it was as if every day together was another fun, romantic date.

Opening a business? Not so romantic. Not so “fun”.

I can be a bit of a control freak.

I’ll pause here to allow my MIL to stop laughing….

 I don’t know if it’s the OCD, or the ICanDoItBetter mentality that I have, but I tend to want to approve everything that has to do with Paizano’s. I double-check the food-buy orders that our KMgr sends, I check the upskirt of each slice-pie that is made, I move toppings around as the pizzas are being built by someone else, I add a few more garnishes to salads, I stack the plates differently or organize the condiments so that the labels are facing the same way AND YOU SHOULD DO THIS TOO!!!!! I want everyone in my world to care as much as I do; to feel a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction that their day resulted in perfection.

Alright, back to my original post.

Whitey and I have been married now for four years. In these four short years we’ve sold our homes in one town, left our respective jobs, moved to a small town, bought a home together, and have opened a restaurant.

We’ve had five arguments in these years together, and while the majority of them have been in the last year, I’m going to shift the dates around and say it’s an average of one per year. Not bad.

I’m still smitten with the guy, and life is pretty, pretty good.

Oh – and here’s a photo of one of the gifts that Whitey got me for our anniversary:

Bella Main Street Market wouldn’t carry the inferior FILBERTS, my dear. HAH! 🙂

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, Giving Thanks, Our Pizzeria, Uncategorized, why I love my husband. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Our Anniversary, and our five fights.

  1. MIL says:

    I haven’t stopped laughing yet! I love you both.

  2. Adrienne says:

    That’s hilarious!
    Congratulations on your anniversary : )

  3. Duncan McGeary says:

    Linda and I agreed that I would help her out 3 days a week sorting books.

    First day rolled around, and I didn’t want to do it.

    “That’s O.K.” she said. “You go home and eat some ice cream.”

    ……

    “How am I ever going to accomplish anything with your constant lack of nagging?”

  4. Zac says:

    You guys are incredibly lucky to have found each other and still be as happy and content that you are. It is inspiring to see-especially in these ever-changing times. You guys are truly lucky in so many ways!!!

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!

  5. whitedoyle says:

    Congrats on 4 years!!!

Leave a Reply

