Souper Soup

I’ve been on a soup-kick lately.

It’s probably due to the cloudy, dismal weather we’ve been having.

Last week, I spent four hours in the kitchen trying to perfect a recipe for Jalapeno Chicken Cheddar Chowder.

A long-ago defunct restaurant in Bend served a soup with this title, and I recall many times having a physical craving for it. It was amazing.

My first attempt at making it? Not so amazing. In fact, it was just ehhhhh. Given, I didn’t have a recipe to work off of, but I was still very disappointed.

So the next day, I made a Portabello mushroom soup with wine and brie cheese. I was guessing on the preparation and ingredients, loosely basing it on a soup that we had previously purchased from one of our food vendors. It ended up having too many leeks in it, and I felt it was too healthy rather than indulgent.

After two failed attempts at becoming a soup-chef-extraordinaire I gave up for the rest of the week.

Today, however, I was feeling crafty again.

And lo-and-behold, finally, I have created an amazing soup that will impress and amaze anyone who is fortunate enough to have this succulent liquid grace their palates.

Butternut Squash Bisque

The squash was given to me by a customer, in trade for a slice and a can of beer. The gourds have been sitting in the kitchen, staring at me for too long, and so I decided to chop their heads off and try out a winter-style soup.

Cinnamon, nutmeg, garlic, salt, green peppercorns, buttery onions and the home-grown squash with a drizzle of maple syrup.

Decadent. Rich. Creamy, yet without any milk.

I just might eat this nectar-of-the-gods all day long until the entire pot is finished.

I’m a happy, happy girl right now.


This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Souper Soup

  1. Jen says:

    Hmm… will you give me the recipe the next time I’m in town? (Baker City is the last and BEST stop on our family summer road trip itinerary!)

  2. Hi Keeneye,
    I’m Duncan’s wife. Finally I think I have the right person attached to the right blog. I’ve been so many places lately that I’ve lost my way around.

    That sounds like great soup. One of these spring or summer days maybe we will get over that way and meet you guys in person. Have some pizza and/or soup.

    Thanks for visiting my blogs, even if you couldn’t add a comment. I think I have that fixed now.

  3. deltasierra says:

    OOOooooh, that sounds SO good! 😀 Congrats!

    I love playing with soups – I never can leave well enough alone. 🙂 My chicken veggie soup (for when we get sick) turned into chicken veggie curry lentil soup recently. I don’t know if I can go back to regular chicken veggie. 🙂 NUM. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Unbelievably blessed « Pizza Professional with OCD

Leave a Reply

