The Power of a Zero

A year and a half ago, we ordered 144 pint glasses with our logo on them. I had no idea how many we needed, nor how long they would last.

I knew that we’d break a few, gift a few, and probably have a few smuggled by patrons.

144 pint glasses have lasted us 18-months.

One of our front gals mentioned a few weeks ago that we were down to a dozen glasses with our logo, and that we needed more right away.

I sent an email to our “pint-glass-gal” and get another batch ordered. I let her know that I had a new logo, attached it to the email, and told her to just charge it to our credit card on file.

Yesterday, the FedEx driver arrived with a delivery, and asked where I wanted him to drop off the glasses. I looked at him as if he were confused.

“Just bring them inside,” I answered.

“They won’t fit in the door,” he replied. “It’s packaged for an outdoor delivery.”

I told him to just leave the box near Whitey’s truck.

He dropped off a pallet.

Shrink-wrapped, it stood almost six-feet tall and three-feet wide.

Ruh roh.

I went back to my office and re-examined my email regarding our order.

Oh man. Instead of typing 144 glasses, I typed 1044 glasses.

Yes.

One THOUSAND fourty-four, not one hundred fourty-four.

Just a minor zero in the midst of the email.

We had to bring the majority of the boxes home, and Whitey made the 21 trips back and forth to the truck and up our stairs to store them in our guest room.

At least they look good.

And we’ll probably never run out of them again. At least, not for the next eight years or so.

This entry was posted in All About Us, Our Pizzeria. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Power of a Zero

  1. Tom says:

    Why not put some up for sale at the counter.

  2. Sam Watson says:

    Looks like you’re stuck with that logo for a while, too.

  3. Jen says:

    I’ll take four… how much are they? 🙂

  4. wendy says:

    For the third time in the last four years, my poor kid will spend his birthday (9th) in the car coming home from a trip. This trip happens to be to a family reunion in Idaho. I’m pretty sure he’ll need a pint glass on June 28th when we stop in for birthday pizza. Just tell him that his mommy gets to drink all the beer out of it first. I’ll need after a reunion with the crazies. And just to warn you…we’ll have 4 adults and 7 kids, although 3 of the kids are technically adults or close, and 2 of the kids are almost too little for pizza. We tip big.

  5. Sherri says:

    We’ll take 4 too 🙂 We’ll Paypal the money when you let us know shipping costs too.

    Also, putting them for sale on the counter is a GREAT idea!

  6. Jana says:

    I know what we are getting for Christmas!!!

  7. monkeyinabox says:

    Perhaps you need some other glasses for when you do your ordering. 😉

  8. Keith says:

    Well, I hope they gave you a per-unit break with a quantity order like that.

    We just boiled up a batch of homebrew IPA yesterday too, I’m sure it would taste good out of new Paizano’s pint glasses in a few weeks. How do we get? You need a website with a Paypal link.

  9. Adrienne says:

    Like the new cups! The logo came out great. All 1044 of them.

  10. Jen Jen says:

    You can certainly send one my way!! 🙂

  11. gottabkd says:

    I thought this might be something about Earth Day and say… zero footprint, zero emmissions, but wow that is one honking tall order… whew!

    I ditto Jen Jen above… your friendly Canadian would love to advertise for you and hopefully send some pizza loving customers your way
    😉

    Or you could just sell them from the counter.

  12. Jen says:

    Anybody that tries the challenge should at least get one glass…and people with really cute kids should get one too. But really, you should put a few up for sale. Tourists love stuff from the natives…by the way, what are your feelings on large pots that are black and white speckled for your kids to drink and eat out of? I got nothing on the ceramic side…

  13. Heather says:

    I would love to be able to buy one as well as the chance of me ever getting to the restaurant are pretty slim (I live in Texas) 🙂

Leave a Reply

