Simple Thanks

I cry when I am sad.

But I also cry when I am happy. I’m a girl…. give me a break.

Tonight, I cried when a FrontGal called me from work to give me an update.

As I sit at home, exhausted and sore, tired and on the verge of being sick, she calls me with her chipper voice filled with sunshine to say that everything is going Great At Work and that sales are good and that, basically, life is stellar.

Unbeknownst to her, I had tears streaming down my face as she described the night. I really, really don’t feel well, and waiting on customers &/or making food was the last thing in the world that I wanted to do tonight. I smile a LOT, but I can’t fake it well, and tonight was one of those nights.

So, everyone rallied without me and were basically rockstars while I sat on my arse at home in my La-Z-Boy watching Hell’s Kitchen on the DVR.

It is a strange perspective to now be the “owner” of a business (after having been the “employee” for so long). I would have never felt guilty for calling in sick tonight as an employee, but now feel an enormous amount of guilt having left work earlier this afternoon because I felt downtrodden.

I gave the FrontGal a feeble “Thanks” over the phone, and she cheerfully replied that she’d see me tomorrow.

Yes. I’ll be there with bells on.

And with a much better attitude after being allowed to wallow for a day in the basement with my TV, peppermint tea and cornnuts.

This entry was posted in All About Us, Giving Thanks, Our Pizzeria. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Simple Thanks

  1. Jen says:

    Feel better soon! You deserve the time to rest and recoup. Sounds like you have a great crew. Hang in there.

  2. Calhoun says:

    We had a great night =) we are rockstars my friend. miss you though…. seems like its been ages, only two days. get better soon!

  3. Nanc says:

    You do have a crew of ROCK STARS !!! But you need to remember you are the one and only DIVA !!! hope you are feeling beter.

  4. Lyle Hicks says:

    Isn’t it great to have a crew like that?

    I too was sick last week. But, I knew that I did not have to worry about the business as it was in great hands.

    I feel that I understand your perspective more than most, however, and often feel that when I read your writings.

    Keep up the good work! You and Whitey are doing it well and right.

Leave a Reply

