I truly love Tuesdays

I had the best flight lesson today — felt a lot more relaxed and knowledgeable about what I was doing, even with just a few lessons under my belt. My instructor, (not Mike; this time it was Troy) was super laid-back and calm.

Here’s a photo of Mike and Troy when they aren’t having to deal with insane flight students:

Anywho, we went through the pre-flight much faster than I have before, and Troy allowed me to do the pre-flight check list by myself.

Here’s a video from YouTube featuring the starting of a Cessna. We did almost everything exactly the same, except I haven’t ever had to prime the engine.

We taxied for about three minutes, and then took off. Here’s another video I found that is very similar to our typical takeoff:

Troy left everything to me for the most part unless I asked him (read: Freaked Out) to take the controls or if he was demonstrating a maneuver

Yeah. Like the ENGINE STALL.

The first stall stressed me just a tad…. approximately 7,000 feet and a pulling a climb of about 30-degrees which decreased our speed from 100mph to 40mph. The next stall, however, he talked me through and explained exactly what was happening exactly two seconds before it happened. It made me much more at ease, and I appreciated his teaching style.

We practiced accelerated turning descents, sharp bank turns (PS: I hate turning right) and I was taught the basics of using my rudder.

Yes, a rudder. Just like a boat, only above ground.

Troy had to remind me a couple of times (OK… numerous times) to watch the horizon, and not just my instrument panel. I’m OCD, and flying by instruments seems like a good thing to me. I can adjust my speed, turns, altitude, etc. just by looking at a panel of instruments — not looking at the looming Elkhorn Mountains.

How strange to watch these videos on YouTube and know what they’re talking about.

I know I’m boring you (sorry mom) but this is the most exciting, exhilarating thing that I’ve done in…

forever?

It’s pretty dang amazing.

Alright. So Tuesday. My one day off every week. I did my flight lesson for the day, worked for about three hours on restaurant stuff (payroll, schedule), then was domestic at home. Laundry. Dishes. Gardening. Pulling weeds.

It was a pretty good day.

Being my only day off, I was spoiled with dinner out at Earth & Vine with two other people, where we dined on homemade Dim Sum, cheese fondue (trust me, it’s enough for four people), and a chicken salad with mandarin oranges. We shared a bottle of local wine – Gilstrap Brothers 45 Magic Syrah – which was absolutely perfect, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at dinner.

So today was great, right?

Yet it makes me puff out my bottom lip at thinking of working from 10am till 10pm tomorrow.

SO.

JC agreed to come in an hour early, and that means that I’ll be cruising again tomorrow between 2:30 and 4:30 (our slow time @ Paizano’s)  in the gorgeous skies of Baker County. Look up, and if you see that sweet lil’ red n’ white Cessna, smile and wave!

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, Flying, Giving Thanks. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I truly love Tuesdays

  1. Friend in Bend says:

    A couple of quick thoughts.

    Faster isn’t better in a preflight inspection. A good, thorough preflight, has saved a lot of lives. Especially after maintenance of any kind has been performed.

    Remember on the start to keep your rpm’s below 1000 and to check the oil pressure immediately. It should become second nature, and will keep you from damaging the engine (especially important when you own the plane some day).

    The stalls that you practice are not “ENGINE STALLS.” They are wing stalls. They occur when the angle of incidence reaches a point where the airflow over the wing separates. Basically, the wing no longer has smooth air flowing over it and can no longer produce lift…it stalls. To decrease the angle of incidence and recover from the stalled condition, simply lower the nose of the aircraft.

    Good luck.

  2. Friend in Bend says:

    Excuse me, angle of attack, not incidence.

Leave a Reply

