Ugly Wednesday

My foot is ridiculously damaged. It’s fat and purple, and my toes look like little sausages. I’ve been elevating it constantly, even while I sleep.

I spent four hours yesterday at a hair salon – my first time in 23 years getting my hair done. It was terrifying. She whacked nine inches off of the back, and used intense chemicals to relax and straighten my hair. It’s short, straight, and begging for a hot oil treatment. I’m not allowed to wash, style or wear any clips in it for at least 48 hours to minimize the damage that we did.

Here’s a camera-phone photo:

I now wish I hadn’t done it, but it’s too late for that. Salon remorse.

My folks are in town and took me to Barley’s for dinner last night. I sat with my foot propped up on a chair underneath the table, and enjoyed the best Kobe beef burger in the world. All three of us ordered it the same way: medium, with an onion bun. Try it sometime with the onion bun – out of this world! It’s worth every dollar.

I went straight home last night to prop my foot back up, and it was already swollen by just a few minutes of hobbling around.

Today, we’re really short handed at work. One guy has the day off (his only one this week) and another is showing animals at the Baker County Fair. That leaves Whitey and I — but I’m incapacitated. I got ready for work this morning, and just the act of showering and getting dressed has me in pain. I officially cannot walk or stand up for more than 3-minutes at a time.

So, no deliveries today. Sorry.

I need my foot to heal sooner than later.

This entry was posted in All About Us, Our Pizzeria. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ugly Wednesday

  1. Keith says:

    I think it looks adorable! Although I think it would look better with some David/Clark muffs on with boom mic. Do you have enough strength to push a rudder? 🙂

  2. KeenEye says:

    Ahhh, Keith. No. I barely have enough pain-tolerance to stand for five minutes; I can’t imagine using a rudder. I miss flying, too. Keep dreaming about it.

  3. Adrienne says:

    I really like your hair. Change is always hard to absorb especially when it comes to hair. Work it girl, work it!

  4. Jen says:

    How very Veronica Lake!

Leave a Reply

