Baker County Fair

The ankle has taken it out of me. Between nursing it back to normalcy, and trying to keep up at work, I haven’t had the time to blog lately. Grrrrr. I’m sorry, mom.

Speaking of which, my folks were in town a couple of weeks ago, right after I mutilated my ankle. Because I was unable to work, I was able to spend a little more time with them than normal, which was a blessing in disguise.

Our ovens guy was also off of work (causing more problems in the kitchen than I care to remember), because he was attending the Baker County Fair. We were kind enough to give him the time off, which turned out to be a HORRIBLE, AWFUL, NO-GOOD decision. I’ll explain later.

My folks took me to Barley Brown’s for dinner, and then we went to watch Calhoun at the fair. This kid is missing his calling – he should’ve been an actor. Watch him walk the ring, and tell me if you don’t immediately know he’s a showman:

Seriously, right? Such a show-off! Don’t you love how intensely all of the kids stare at the judge while parading their animals? Mad respect.

So that’s Calhoun, and directly next to him (the cute brunette gal) is one of our front gals. She’s such a nice girl – I had no idea she could man-handle a stubborn sheep like that.

The judging went something like this:

Did you have any doubt? Why else would I be blogging on it?

My folks and I were beaming. How cool that he’d win while they were in attendance. But wait… there’s more!

The judging continued for the Reserve Market Champion….

and (drum roll please)……

TEAM PAIZANO’S IN THE HOUSE! Front girl takes the prize! Oh yeah.

I, of course, have nothing to do with their livestock talent, but will take all of the credit. Thank you.

I wish I could only hire ranch kids. They are so reliable, have an incredible work-ethic, are honest to a fault… and gosh darnit, are some of the most respectful people I know. Salt of the Earth.

When Whitey got home later, I showed him the photos and videos that I took, and was gushing about how proud I was of “our” kids. He rolled his eyes and said that showing animals wasn’t that hard.

He then demonstrated on our rottweiler, Max.

Ummmm, you won’t be sporting a new belt buckle anytime soon, mister.

Okay.

Now the bad news.

Calhoun did such a great job at the fair, he was approached by one of the judges who offered him a great opportunity to LEAVE PAIZANO’S and LEAVE ME and LEAVE BAKER CITY forever!

They offered him a position of managing sheep. Mmmm hmmm. Managing sheep at Oregon State University. I’m not sure all that entails, but it must be pretty cool because the kid won’t stop bouncing off the walls at work. I thought that they had Beavers at OSU, but I guess I was wrong.

The entire crew at our restaurant is bummed out. Calhoun does the job of two people on any given task, and rarely makes mistakes in the kitchen. He’s everyone’s friend. I’m not gonna lie; both Whitey and I have broken down crying at the thought of losing him. Not just as an employee, but as a friend. He’s one of those people who make an impact on you the moment you meet him, and we’re truly sad to see him go.

Proud, but sad.

And Calhoun? You’d better keep us updated daily on how your sheep-managing skills are progressing. Your fans will want photos.

This entry was posted in All About Us, animals, baker city, Our Pizzeria, Teamwork. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baker County Fair

  1. Holy Toledo!!!! Yeah for John!!! His mother must be elated, and freaked.. She works at Barley’s but I’m sure you know that:)

    Yep. Salt of the Earth!!!

  2. Jen says:

    Sooo I am a ranch kid. Hell yeah! Did I tell you I have a prospect for you?

  3. Tom says:

    Yep, we “ranch kids” are the salt of the earth.

Leave a Reply

