Get a Job, Earn a Job, KEEP a Job

I’m going through a slight burn-out phase at work. I’ve been working 11 a.m. till close every day (9 or 10 p.m.), sometimes even getting called in early because of a big order. And of course, I still do work at home from 8 till 11 a.m. It’s taking its toll.

I’m a worker, though. I’ve always worked. I take immense pride in a job-well-done. Every former employer that I’ve had has told me that they would hire me back immediately. That makes me feel good. I’ve heard that we humans should be humble, but dammit, I’m proud of my accomplishments and of my work experience.

It’s infuriating to see such high unemployment, thousands of people lining up for jobs everywhere else but in Baker City. Don’t get me wrong, we’ve received over 200+ applications after running our recent cruitment ad. Yet barely anyone had any positive work experience, most didn’t have a driver’s license, or worse, their references just laughed when I called. I’ve been on the other side of that phone call, when all I can do is drop my jaw incredulously that a previous employee who wronged us actually lists us as a reference.

Check out the line of applicants at the Olive Garden in Bend:

Robb Kerr / The Bulletin

Unbelievable, right? Over 700 applicants for 165 jobs.

Another restaurant, 5 Spice Fusion and Sushi, received 500 applications in November for only 25 positions. (PS: My folks went there for dinner and were blown away, so if you live in Bend please go try it!)

Kohl’s department store is opening in Bend as well, and all 117 positions were filled in 2-hours. TWO HOURS! These are minimum wage jobs that people are lining up for.

Today, Whitey’s former employers (and friends of ours) 10-Barrel Brewing Company took in over 400+ applications for 30 positions.

– wow –

People need to take any job that’s offered to them if they’re out of work (or work their arses off at the job they have to keep it). Hard work, ethics, and loyalty to those who are signing your paychecks are valuable traits to have in an employee, and smart employers realize this. They reward it. But bite the hand that feeds you and you can kiss your paycheck goodbye.

While they don’t make as much as working at Satchel’s, our crew averages over $13 an hour. Last month our top employee made over $17 an hour. That’s good money for a town that has a household median income of $29K. That’s “I can buy a house” money.

We just hired someone from out-of-town. He recently graduated with degrees in History and Elementary Education. When he mentioned this in his interview, Whitey and I smiled at each other and shared an inside joke.

He and Whitey have exactly the same college degrees.

I often tell the story of my sales assistant years ago who had $30K worth of student loans. She was working an hourly wage, barely making ends meet, but she proudly displayed her college degree in a Dollar Tree frame on her desk. Very expensive paperwork.

Experience is everything. Being professor-taught isn’t as big a deal…

UNLESS you’re a doctor about to cut me open. I don’t want a Medical Doctor, a Dentist, a Psychologist or Attorney who is “self-taught”.

Everyone else? Work experience is key. Get a job, do it right, be the BEST at it you can be, regardless of your title. If you’re worth your salt, you’ll move up in your career. I promise. But if you’re lazy, a liar, or not loyal, you’ll continue to be that guy filling out applications which list 6-months at every job.

And employers notice.

</rant>

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, bend oregon, Giving Thanks, Our Pizzeria, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Get a Job, Earn a Job, KEEP a Job

  1. Tom says:

    Hmmm. Bad coding, you forgot to open with . But what you wrote echos what I have said for 30 years. Right on.

  2. Pizza Girl says:

    I agree with you and I pitty the hiring managers in those situations. How do you find those people that you want to work with out of a pool of 200? And just using a piece of paper that lists their work experience and maybe a few stock interview questions. Do you worry about people who are vastly overqualified for the job? It makes my head spin because I know the joys of a workplace where everyone gets along and the agony of having a person there who just makes everyone else miserable and/or who doesn’t do their job.

  3. shannon says:

    And then there are the folks that prey on the unemployed and want them to work for free. I’m about to send Brian over to Baker City and work. He wants to work but can’t find a thing.

  4. Dunc says:

    Dear Pie Face,

    Remember, you’re as unusual a boss as you were an employee.

    I think kids today don’t think employers are keeping up their end of the bargain.

  5. Noe Jones says:

    This is SO true. I have two degrees and neither are directly related to my field. But they have come in handy when it comes to getting me in the door and determining salary. 😉

Leave a Reply

