Breaking a rule

By typing these words, I’ve broken a rule.

Never blog after midnight.

The other rule tied to that is GO TO SLEEP before midnight.

Last night I slept from 1 a.m. until 4 a.m. – only finally rising out of bed just shy of five o’clock in the morning.

My mind was racing, and there was no way I’d fall back asleep. I worked on the schedule, finally finished payroll reports, and trolled on Facebook for about fifteen-minutes before waking up Whitey to get ready for work.

I had to finish the second-half of our catering gig, and a pizzeria owner is not too hip on serving breakfast.

By 8 a.m., we had eggs, juice, coffee, rolls, (the most amazing) fruit salad, bowls of bananas / apples, jams, cream cheese, smoked salmon, tomatoes, red onions, more? all set up and being loved at our off-site location.

And by 9 a.m., my front gal and I were sharing a bagel and fish in the dining room, talking about how crazy the past few days have been. Even those 10-minutes of sitting on a chair were so appreciated; just to sit down, eat, and plan for the rest of the day.

I work. A lot. I wish I had a 7 or even an 8-hour-a-day shift… even if it were every day. An hour a day is what I’m allowed – to jump on a treadmill, to watch a recorded TV show, to read. Yet, even that hour is too much work sometimes.

Before opening Paizano’s I had always thought “how cool to own a restaurant”.

Now?

“How cool to find a loyal, capable, honest employee to help to run a restaurant.”

I’m doing everything I can to keep my head on straight right now. Although, it might serve me well to be watching my back, too, considering…

Great. Here I go again.

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, Our Pizzeria. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

