Sheesh

I’m fine. Good. Dandy.

I don’t check the stats of my blog enough, obviously, and didn’t realize that y’all are stalkers and need a UPwOCD  fix (yeah, you too, JB).

The restaurant has been busy; steady enough that we’re all working for our paychecks. Although, Sunday night I cried. After seven straight hours of trying to keep up with orders, Whitey waltzed in to “help” and I found a wall to lean on and let a few tears go.

He made me a simple dinner (I hadn’t eaten all day) and he then worked the line for an hour while I did back-up and cleaning. It was the highlight of my day. We broke our Sunday sales record, and when I finally got home at midnight, I had to look online to figure out what day of the week it was.

This business will drive you crazy. I promise.

But besides that….  it also has the most genuine rewards.

A new customer asked to talk to the “chef” (which is uncomfortable – I’m a cook, not a chef) and she gushed so much about how much she loved everything. I thanked her, then asked what she ordered. She spent five minutes explaining….

Huge roasted garlic bulbs set atop melted aged gorgonzola cheese, drizzled with a balsamic reduction and served with crostini toasted with olive oil and rosemary and fresh basil –

and –

a salad with thick baby spinach with shredded whole-milk mozzarella, thinly-sliced sweet red onions and toasted pinenuts, then  lightly tossed with a raspberry honey dressing and topped with huge, crisp bacon crumbles and finely shredded asiago –

and –

a hand-rolled homemade dough filled with pepperoni, sausage, onions, caramelized garlic, pepperjack cheese  and jalapenos, cooked until crispy and served with a beautiful marinara sauce.

“Ah. We’re a pizza place. Not a fine-dining restaurant. You’re imagining things!” I said.

She gave me a hug when she left, and that made my night. It’s so strange. I’m in business to make money, yet, I’m still human and respond to positive feedback.

And I hate to admit (yet, here I am typing it on my little keyboard)….

It needs to be perfect. Every time. All the time.

I don’t want to waste my time on mediocre, decent, alright, at-least-I’m-full food. It needs to impress.

Yeah. Just a pizza place.

A pizza place owned by an untrained professional with OCD.

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, Giving Thanks, Our Pizzeria, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sheesh

  1. spabettie says:

    wow, those descriptions sound delicious… I still need to make my way down there, Meet The Southern Kina, and eat your food! 🙂

    (this is Kina from Portland… hope you remember me? – same name, same adoration for Brett Favre… 🙂

  2. JB says:

    When are you opening your next franchise? Or will OCD prevent such a thing? You can only be in one place at a time!!!!

    xxoo LOVE THE PIES

Leave a Reply

