Day Two… and it gets worse

The high school lunch rush yesterday really, really frustrated me.

The kids crowded around the counter, blocking the walkway to the dining room, and no matter how many times I’d say “Excuse me” or “I’m going to have to keep walking through here, guys” they just didn’t get it.

I was tempted to accidentally spill a soda on someone just to make a point. I was near the point of yelling, although I’d have to yell pretty damned loud to be heard over the cacophony of our dining room.

When it was all over, the place was trashed. Empty baskets of breadsticks, marinara sauce spilled on tables, napkins and food remnants on the floor — not one table was without debris. They all just stood up and walked out at once, hurrying to get back to school before the bell rang.

Whitey jumped to help bus tables, but we still had our adult customers to wait on and make food for. We switched roles for a few minutes just so I could hide in the kitchen and get Zen on some strombolis.

The front gal I was working with offered the suggestion that I have a stern talk with the line of kids today, explaining the ground rules. I’m afraid that they’ll take it as a challenge, though.

I’m truly tempted to tell the students that all food will be wrapped to-go, and they must eat it elsewhere. Or what about offering a discount if they get it to-go?

I’m at a loss. I don’t want to lose my regular adult lunch crowd to 15-minutes of yelling, messy kids.

This entry was posted in All About Us, baker city, Bummer, Our Pizzeria. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day Two… and it gets worse

  1. BatGirl says:

    All the restaurants/convenience stores around my high school had signs posted that stated “no more than x number of students allowed at a time” (it was usually 2 or 3). So one kid would come in with money & orders for his friends and take stuff to go.

    Of course they were more worried about theft (inner city school) then anything else.

    We also only had 20 minutes for lunch so most “good” students didn’t leave campus because you’d never make it back in time for 5th period.

  2. Jen Jen says:

    If they cannot behave then you have the right to ask them to leave. There is nothing wrong with putting up a sign that says you have the right to refuse service to obnoxious, rude, inconsiderate high school children (or something like that…). Maybe a “dear high school student” sign that states they will be respectful, clean up after themselves, keep voices at a decent level and no outside food from other establishments are allowed or they will be banned/asked to leave and not return. After all, your not their mother or their maid and if they cannot behave in your restaurant then they deserve to be kicked out on their arse! Just my 2 cents 🙂

  3. Dunc says:

    Give it a week or two, and it’s likely it will clear up on it’s own.

Leave a Reply

