babies, teamwork

At one point, we had three bambinos in the Paizano’s oven.

Freebird, one of our front gals, moved to California when her husband got a new job. We miss her and her preggo belly.

James, one of our cooks, has a baby on the way due about the same time as Freebird, which coincidentally is around the same time as our most recent front gal, Whit.

Whit called me yesterday to let me know that she had been air-lifted to Boise the night before; she had gone into early labor. Whit is young, but she sounded so mature and calm about the situation. When I did the math in my head I realized that this little boy was going to arrive about 7 to 8 weeks early, which made me panic a little on the inside. She was apologetic about leaving us stranded without someone to cover her shift. Funny, right? She has much more important things to worry about.

I scratched her name off the schedule and replaced it with mine, which means I’ll be working as a front gal during the day and a cook at night. I don’t mind at all, really, except that I might get a bit burnt out.

I’ve enjoyed the last couple of days working the front. It’s also helped me to see things that we can improve on — things that I wouldn’t normally notice. I also get to chat with our customers, which I rarely do at night. I get to meet new people, and keep up with our regulars. Working the front is a whole different animal than working in the back.

But I love the kitchen. I love cooking and making perfect food. I like having an eye for detail and spreading out the toppings on a pizza so that every bite is going to be exactly.how.I.would.want.it.period. I like watching the food be plated, garnished, cleaned up prior to its arrival on a table.

I like the camaraderie of our crew. We all know our own strengths and weaknesses. We tell jokes. We yell and get heated, and then go into mellow and cleaning mode all at the same time. A successful kitchen crew is teamwork at its best.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in About Pizza, All About Us, baker city, Giving Thanks, Our Pizzeria, Teamwork. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

