First Fight

I’m not good at math, so I’m not going to attempt to figure out what year it was.

But it’s worth remembering. Our first fight. It was a loooooong time ago.

Whitey was a bartender in downtown Bend, Oregon, and it was his birthday.

Backtrack:

My mom has always made a big deal out of my birthday; lots of fancy handmade bows on hand wrapped gifts, and usually she would bust out a big glue gun to adhere the ginormous tchotchkes to my perfectly wrapped packages.

So I figured that I would surprise my boyfriend (Whitey) at his place of work (JC’s Bar n’ Grill) with balloons and ME! 🙂

I walked in with the bouquet of balloons, he took one look at me and stormed into the back room. Everyone smiled and asked what the occasion was, and when they found out it was their favorite bartender’s birthday? Well, let’s just say everyone was pretty cool with that. Lots of “YAY WHITEY” comments and smiles around the bar….

My job was done. He’d be the man of the evening, probably get a few more kudos than usual, make more tips….

except for the fact that he was pissed.

Beyond pissed.

He came out from the back room, grabbed the balloons, took them to the hallway and POPPED every single one of them.

Me, being a girl (and a girlfriend), well, I cried as I stormed off to my car, not sure of what I had done to make him such a jackass.

Turns out that

Whitey doesn’t like attention, and he doesn’t celebrate any holiday other than Thanksgiving. He’s always said that Thanksgiving is the perfect reason for a holiday — no work, your family around a table, you eat tons of home cooking, sleep, watch football, eat more, hug, kiss, goodnight.

(and looking back on what I just wrote, he’s probably right. we should celebrate Thanksgiving at least once a month.)

Anywho.

It’s now my birthday, and I won’t get a card from my husband. I won’t get flowers, and I won’t get a fancy gift with a big handmade bow on it.

I’m okay with that. I am just as pleased having an entire day off of work, and maybe eating something other than pizza.

Plus the fact that yesterday, I was carded when buying a bottle of wine.

I like that.

 

 

This entry was posted in All About Us. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First Fight

  1. Missy says:

    Happy (day late) birthday, K!!

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I didn’t realize we shared the Kina name AND a birthday month!!

  3. Tom says:

    Darn! When I saw the title at first glance I thought it said “First Flight”. I was excited that maybe you had finally soled. Good story though, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY, I would totally card you if I didn’t know you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

